public member

Black Philanthropic Network

“The Black Philanthropic Network is the realization of a long standing vision for Blacks in philanthropy across the country to share resources, connect, inform and engage around our programming to shepherd ABFE’s mission to promote effective and responsive philanthropy in Black communities.”
-- Marcus F. Walton, ABFE Director of Programs

What is the Black Philanthropic Network (BPN)?
The Black Philanthropic Network is a group of nine regional affinity groups whose focus is to support philanthropy in Black communities and that is in alignment with ABFE’s mission to promote effective and responsive philanthropy in Black communities.

What is ABFE’s role in the network?
ABFE is the glue that keeps the network together. We coordinate activities, we house data and information, we identify resources and through our technology we connect and engage the network of regions.

What does the BPN do?
BPN offers programming, hosts even ts, and gathers and disseminates information around specific communities across the country.

Why is the BPN necessary and beneficial to philanthropy?
ABFE and BPN’s relationship allows us to identify the most current issues, trends, challenges and promising practices around the country and inform philanthropy’s role in improving outcomes in Black communities.

What are the ten regional groups that form the Black Philanthropic Network?
Bay Area Blacks in Philanthropy
Summer Jackson
Sjackson@babip.org
www.babip.org

Black Philanthropic Alliance (DC)
Jacquelyn L. Lendsey
lendsey@verizon.net
www.blackphilanthropicalliance.org

Chicago African Americans in Philanthropy 
Deborah Bennett 
DBennett@polkbrosfdn.org

Sharon Bush
sbush@fryfoundation.org
www.caaip.org

Colorado Blacks in Philanthropy
LaDawn Sullivan
lsullivan@denverfoundation.org
www.denverfoundation.org

Indiana Blacks in Philanthropy
Tyrone Spann
tcec97@yahoo.com
Michigan African Americans in Philanthropy
Shannon Polk
spolk@mott.org
www.michiganfoundations.org 
Minnesota Blacks in Philanthropy
Trista Harris  
Trista@headwatersfoundation.org
New England Blacks in Philanthropy
Bithiah Carter 
BCarter@nebip.org
www.nebip.org

Southeastern Network of African Americans in Philanthropy
Kenita Williams  
kentia@secf.org

Tamieka White  
Tamiekawhite325@gmail.com

African American Funders Group of Southwestern PA
Karris Jackson
kjackson@poisefdn.org
www.poisefdn.org

New York Blacks in Philanthropy
Anthony Simmons
newyorkbip@gmail.com
http://www.newyorkbip.org